LibGuides: Humanities: History 1&2

Introduction

This guide supports the study of Outcome 2 : Explain the causes and nature of challenge and change in relation to two selected contexts in the second half of the twentieth century and analyse the consequences for people. It provides links to resources, including primary sources, about social and political movements associated with terrorism and social movements in Australia during the second half of the twentieth century.

Start with the encyclopedias.

Remember to put phrases in inverted commas, e.g. "Black September" ; "Feminist movement".

Notetaking

One effective strategy for improving retention is note taking – not just because you’ll have a written record to refer to in the future, but also because the actual act of taking notes can help cement concepts in your mind. There is no single way of taking notes. Browse these resources to find what suits you.

Tips on how to organise the information you've read into a useful set of notes State Library of Victoria - Ergo

Once you've read this, watch the Cornell Method video. This is an excellent strategy.

Note-taking (University of Melbourne)

Terrorism

Click on the image above to go to a Brittanica article on Terrorism, its history and some of the terrorist organisations of the past.

Below is a page from World Book on terrorism.

Terrorism | Article | World Book Advanced (worldbookonline.com)

Below is a link to the Australian Government's page on Jemaah Islamiyah.

Jemaah Islamiyah (nationalsecurity.gov.au)

A page from the Australian National Museum on the Bali Bombing of 2002 carried out by Jemaah Islamiyah.

Bali bombings | National Museum of Australia (nma.gov.au)

A Brittanica page on the Spanish terrorist group ETA.

ETA -- Britannica School (eb.com.au)

Database - Infobase - Modern World History

Modern World History

user name: clonard password: geelong

Creating references

Referencing or citing your sources is an important part of academic writing and research. It lets you acknowledge the ideas or words of others and helps avoid plagiarism.

Click on the Online reference generator above to create reference citations for your bibliography.

Terrorism

Emergence of the Japanese Red Army
Primary source: CIA report.
Imprisoned Japanese Red Army founder Shigenobu holds out hope for revolution
The imprisoned founder of the Japanese Red Army admits her efforts to bring revolution to Japan in the 1970s and ’80s ended in failure but
more...less...
she remains optimistic that public protest can check government moves to alter the pacifist Constitution.
Movements of the Japanese Red army
Report by the National Police Agency, Japan.
Founder of Japan's Red Army in final appeal for freedom
Report on the founder of JRA, her activities (includes a timeline of events).

Who were Germany's Red Army Faction militants?
The BBC News website looks at the long terror campaign by Germany's most notorious far-left guerrilla group, also known as the Baader-Meinhof gang, whose members killed more than 30 people in the 1970s and 80s.
A terror campaign of love and hate
On the eve of a new film about the movement, Neal Ascherson - who met key members of the group as The Observer's correspondent in Germany at the time - reflects on the legacy of those turbulent years and the strange hold they had on the national psyche. (28 Sept 2008)
Playing with fire: 50 years of Germany's Red Army Faction
The RAF dissolved in 1998, but many questions are still unanswered. See also, the articles linked at the bottom of this page.
Red Army Faction: A Chronology of Terror
In its 28 years of existence, the left-wing militant Red Army Faction group murdered 34 people. Here is a chronology of the group's terrorist activities.
Photos from Getty Images
Click on each photo for details.
Social history portal: Red Army Faction
This is a collection of more than 1,200 digitized documents by and on the Rote Armee Fraktion (Red Army Faction, 'RAF'). The aim of this website is to provide these documents in their authentic form to researchers, historians and other people interested, not to support or oppose any views expressed in these documents.

Munich massacre
BBC report of the Munich massacre.
The hunt for Black September
On the eve of the release of Steven Spielberg's film Munich, the BBC gains exclusive access to the undercover Mossad agents assigned to track down the Palestinian group responsible for the murder of Israeli athletes at the 1972 Munich Olympics.
Abu Daoud: Palestinian terrorist who masterminded the 1972 Olympic massacre
PLO: History of a Revolution - Black September
In the second episode of this six-part series, Al Jazeera looks at the events that led to the PLO's expulsion from Jordan and the birth of the Black September Organisation.
Jeff Hook cartoon

FBI – Testimony from AAD of Counterterrorism Unit, 2001

Al Qaeda
Detailed overview of this group.
Foreign Policy – Al Qaeda Core: a short history
History.com – 9/11 attacks
History.com – Osama bin Laden
Australian Government response to 9/11
Frontline – Inside Al Qaeda

Official Irish Republican Army (OIRA)
Detailed overview of this group (Also called Provisional IRA).
Why the Provisional IRA still exists in Northern Ireland
What is the Irish Republican Army?
Examples of IRA posters
Images and descriptions of a number of posters.

Alternative names: Weather Underground, Weather Underground Organization

Red Brigades
Detailed overview of this group.
Domestic Terrorism and Italy’s Red Brigades
Aviation and airport security: terrorism and safety concerns
Scan to page 89 for an overview of terrorism in Italy, including the IRB.
BBC news reports
A list of news reports about the IRB.
Brigate Rosse / Red Brigades

Liberation Tigers of Tamil Elam
Detailed overview of this group.
Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam
Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam

Popular movements in Australia

Gender equality milestones
Time line of key events in Australia.
Women and equality as citizens
This unit contains many primary sources. Chapter 4 relates specifically to the 1960s feminist movement.
Women's liberation movement
Includes primary source video.
The encyclopedia of women & leadership in twentieth-century Australia
Women's Liberation Movement in Australia with links to information about key women in the movement.
Reason and Revolt: source documents in Australian radicalism
Reason in Revolt brings together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource.
Germaine Greer and women's liberation, 1972
Discover what it was like for women who spoke up for equal rights in the early 1970s.

Anti-War and Peace Movements
Overview of peace movements throughout the 20th century.
The encyclopedia of women & leadership in twentieth-century Australia
Peace Movements 1900 to 1960. Includes links to information about relevant women.
Reason and Revolt: source documents in Australian radicalism
The Reason in Revolt project aims to bring together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource.

The encyclopedia of women & leadership in twentieth-century Australia
Environment Movement. Includes links to related women.
Reason and Revolt: source documents in Australian radicalism
Reason in Revolt brings together primary source documents of Australian radicalism as a readily accessible digitised resource.
The Australian environment movement: 1970–80
This resource's media footage from that time reflects elements of the environment movement's growing influence, its values, language, arguments, strategies, accommodations and political challenges.
The movements of the Australian environment movement
While many groups started in the 1960s and '70s as grassroots orientated, movement-style organisations, the years from 1983 onwards when 'environment friendly' federal Labor governments were in power profoundly changed the movement.
Australian environmental activism Timeline
Scan down the page to locate the timeline.